Brooke Linn has worked as a counselor and educator at Sanibel Sea School in the past, and we're so excited for her to join us once again as the Site Manager for our South Seas Island Resort campus. Learn more about Brooke below!

Where are you from? 

I'm from Maple Grove, Minnesota.

Where did you go to school and what did you study?

I graduated from Northern Michigan University in Marquette, Michigan.  I obtained a Bachelor of Arts in Zoology and Spanish, with a Chemistry minor.

Favorite thing about working at Sanibel Sea School: 

My favorite thing about working for Sanibel Sea School is watching kids become completely immersed in the ocean (especially kids who have never seen the it before!), and seeing them step out of their comfort zone. Their faces light up and it seems as if a little light bulb goes off in their brain. The ocean isn't a judgmental place and the kids look and feel at home. It's truly a precious thing! 

A ladyfish caught on a fly that Brooke tied herself. 

A ladyfish caught on a fly that Brooke tied herself. 

What do you like to do during your time off? 

During my off time, I love to beach comb and SCUBA dive. I am working towards my PADI Divemaster. I've also picked up fly tying and can't wait to start fly fishing. 

Favorite sea creature: 

My favorite sea creature is a Cuttlefish. They are so intelligent and I love how they can change their body patterns, colorations, and even textures!

What's the best music for a weekend at the beach? 

I'm a lover of most music, but I'd definitely have to choose country music. Anything by Luke Bryan, actually.

If you could visit any marine ecosystem on the planet, where would you go? 

If I could visit any marine ecosystem on the planet, I'd definitely have to choose the Great Barrier Reef. I love diving on reefs and seeing all the diversity and how the ecosystem's organisms interact with one another.

Are there any other fun facts you'd like to share about yourself?

I'm an avid outdoorsman.  I love camping, rock climbing, mountain biking, downhill skiing, and spending my off days with my golden retriever, Sophie.